Home / Today's Top Stories / 2018 ICON Honors winners announced

2018 ICON Honors winners announced

The recipients of the Rochester Business Journal’s 2018 ICON Honors awards have been selected.

rbj-icon_cmyk_gold-taglineThe honorees are business leaders over the age of 60 who have had notable success and demonstrate strong leadership both within and outside of their chosen field.

“Those recognized by the 2018 Icon Honors have long sparked innovation and progress, meeting a variety of challenges in Rochester and beyond,” said Suzanne Fischer-Huettner, publisher of the Rochester Business Journal. “They have accomplished many incredible career achievements. Most importantly, they give back to their communities in addition to being mentors and role models for the next generation. They are, quite simply, inspirational, and the Rochester Business Journal is honored to recognize them.”

The ICON Honors awards will be presented Monday, Dec. 10, at a reception from 5:30 to 8 p.m. at Genesee Valley Club, 421 East Avenue in Rochester. Winners will be profiled in a special publication that will be inserted into the Dec. 14 issue of the Rochester Business Journal and available online at www.rbj.net.

The 2018 honorees are:

  • Donald E. Bain, president emeritus, St. John Fisher College
  • James Barr, founding partner, Mengel Metzger Barr LLP
  • Paul Burgett, former dean, University of Rochester (deceased)
  • Carlos Carballada, charitable and community relations manager, M&T Bank
  • Mark Davitt, CEO, ConServe
  • Paul DeCarolis, chairman, DeCarolis Truck Rental
  • Sergio Esteban, CEO, LaBella Associates
  • David Fiedler, retired CEO, ESL Federal Credit Union
  • Sheila Gaddis, partner, Barclay Damon
  • James Hammer, president, Hammer Packaging
  • Randy Henderson, president, Henderson Ford
  • Susan Holliday, former owner and publisher, Rochester Business Journal
  • Peter Jemison, site manager, Ganondagan State Historic Site
  • Wayne LeChase, chairman, LeChase Construction
  • Janet Lomax, retired anchor, News10NBC
  • Essie Calhoun McDavid, retired vice president of community affairs and chief diversity officer, Eastman Kodak Co.
  • James McElheny, managing partner, Woods Oviatt Gilman LLP
  • Kelly Reed, president and CEO, Huther Doyle
  • David Reh, founder, Gorbel, Retrotech, Raytec Group and Ravenwood Golf Club (deceased)
  • Dennis Richardson, interim CEO, Greater Rochester Health Foundation
  • Philip Saunders, president, Saunders Management
  • Deborah Stendardi, vice president, government and community relations, RIT
  • Sister Christine Wagner, special advisor and former executive director, St. Joseph’s Neighborhood Center
  • Louise Woerner, CEO, HCR Home Care

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Check Also

Angela Panzarella of Greece is the CEO of the YWCA of Rochester and Monroe County

YWCA gets creative in its fundraising efforts (access required)

There are few things that can force a global reset of priorities like a pandemic. But when your focus is ...

2020 Super Lawyers & Rising Stars

The 2020 Upstate New York Super Lawyers and Rising Stars have been announced and the following Rochester lawyers have made ...


Oct. 23, 2020 (access required)

The recipients of the Rochester Business Journal’s 2018 ICON Honors awards have been selected. The honorees are business leaders over ...