Four local winners in state tourism and hospitality awards

The NY State Hospitality & Tourism Association has announced its 2019 awards, and four of them will go to Rochester-area people and entities.

Don Jeffries
Don Jeffries

The awards will be presented at the association’s Stars of the Industry gala Nov. 4 at the Rivers Casino-The Landing Hotel, in Schenectady.

Local winners are:

  • Don Jeffries, President & CEO of Visit Rochester, for Outstanding Tourism Executive of the Year.
  • Janet Zinck, professor at Monroe Community College, for Outstanding Tourism Educator of the Year.
  • Tom Cote, Bell Captain at the Woodcliff Hotel & Spa for Outstanding Bellperson of the Year.
  • The Avon Inn, owned and managed by Jim and Jennifer Krause, for Bed & Breakfast/Inn of Distinction.

“All the winners of this year’s awards are STARS in every sense of the word and shining examples of what New York State hospitality and tourism is all about,” said association President Mark Dorr.

The full list of winners is online at the association’s website.

[email protected]/ (585) 363-7275