Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Federation of Social Workers to honor Sister Grace Miller

Sister Grace Miller will receive the 2022 W. Burton Richardson Lifetime Achievement Award from the Federation of Social Workers (FSW) at Thursday’s 16th annual Human Service Worker of the Year Awards luncheon.

The FWS will honor more than a dozen workers, volunteers and organizations at the event, which runs from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at the Joseph A. Floreano Rochester Riverside Convention Center.

For all or parts of seven decades, Miller has been a fierce advocate for community members who have needed a voice, including the poor, the homeless and those facing housing and employment discrimination.

She founded the House of Mercy homeless shelter in 1985 and oversaw operations until this year.

Others to be honored:

» Special Recognition Award For Extraordinary Human Service: Rochester Police Department officers Sino Seng and the late Anthony Mazurkiewicz.

» Human Service Worker of the Year (Public Sector): Carol Garrett, Monroe County Department of Human Services.

» Human Service Worker of the Year (Private Sector): Clay Harris, Uniting & Healing Through Hope.

» John Seebach Volunteer of the Year (two): Christine Castranova, House of Mercy, and Larry Morales Sr., Rochester Central School District.

» Corporate Contributor of the Year: Laborers Local No. 435.

» Non-Profit Organization of the Year (two): Embrace Your Sisters and Recovery All Ways.

» Bertina Forde Rising Star Award: Morgan Salisbury, MCDHS.

» Human Service Courage Award (two): Tyler Mirra and Matthew Cooper.

Founded in 1959, the Monroe County Federation of Social Workers IUE-CWA Local 81381 has 850 members and represents social workers, caseworkers, examiners, child care workers, investigators and child support examiners, as well as seniors and supervisors in those titles.

[email protected]/(585) 653-4020