A National Historic Landmark, Ganondagan is the only New York historic site dedicated to a Native American theme. The iconic full-size Seneca Bark Longhouse was built in 1997 and opened in 1998.
The longhouse is a replica of a fully furnished dwelling that reflects a typical Seneca family from the late 1600s, including reproductions of 17th century Seneca objects and European and colonial trade goods.
Hundreds of thousands of visitors have learned about Seneca life by visiting the longhouse since its opening. Each longhouse held several families from the same clan. They were about 20 feet wide and from 40 to 200 feet long, depending on the number of inhabitants.
Inside, families shared central fire pits and used two-tiered bunks; the bottom tier was for sleeping and the top tier was for storage. The longhouses had a door at each end and smoke holes in the roof above each of the fires.
The site where the Seneca Bark Longhouse stands was razed in 1687 by the French Marquis de Denonville. The dedication of the Seneca Bark Longhouse marked the return of a traditional Seneca dwelling to that site 311 years later.
The Seneca Bark Longhouse is open through the end of October before closing for the winter. The Seneca Art & Culture Center at Ganondagan remains open Nov. 1 through April 30.
The Seneca Bark Longhouse’s roof was successfully replaced in July to allow for future generations to continue to enjoy and learn from this historic space.
Name of the Place
Seneca Bark Longhouse at Ganondagan
7000 County Road 41 (Boughton Hill Road) Victor, NY 14564