Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Ginny Ryan to be honored at hall of fame induction

Ginny Ryan to be honored at hall of fame induction

Listen to this article

Fox Rochester’s Ginny Ryan will receive the “Keeper of the Flame” award from the National Women’s Hall of Fame during the organization’s induction ceremony Sept. 14.

In celebration of the 100th year anniversary of women’s right to vote in New York, the National Women’s Hall of Fame will host a weekend celebrating the achievements of American women in Seneca Falls, the birthplace of the women’s rights movement in the U.S.

In addition to the induction of 11 women into the hall of fame, Ryan will be recognized for “carrying the torch of our foremothers and for inspiring present and future generations,” officials said this week.

Ryan is a Women’s Council of Rochester Athena Award nominee, as well as recipient of the Professional Achievement Award from the Victor Chamber of Commerce. She has served on the boards of Visiting Nurse Service, Heritage Christian Services Foundation, CMAC and Ronald McDonald House Charities of Rochester.

Ryan began her career here in 1987, when she was hired as a news reporter by 13WHAM. Since 1991, she has anchored 13WHAM at 5 with Doug Emblidge and 13WHAM at 11 with Don Alhart. In 2012, she became anchor of 13WHAM at 10 p.m. on Fox Rochester.

She and Emblidge were inducted as a team into the New York State Broadcasting Hall of Fame last year.

The National Women’s Hall of Fame this year will induct the following women:
• Gloria Allred, attorney and activist
• Angela Davis, professor and activist
• Sarah Deer, professor, lawyer and advocate
• Jane Fonda, actress and activist
• Nicole Malachowski, U.S. Air Force and activist
• Rose O’Neill, artist and activist
• Louise Slaughter, former U.S. Congresswoman and advocate
• Sonia Sotomayor, U.S. Supreme Court Justice
• Laurie Spiegel, composer
• Diane von Furstenberg, fashion designer and philanthropist, and
• Flossie Wong-Staal, biologist

The hall of fame was founded in 1969 and is the nation’s oldest membership organization and museum dedicated to honoring and celebrating the achievements of distinguished American women.

This year’s induction will take place at del Lago Resort & Casino.

[email protected] / 585-653-4021
Follow Velvet Spicer on Twitter: @Velvet_Spicer