Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Girl Scouts to honor nine women leaders

Girl Scouts to honor nine women leaders

The Girl Scouts of Western New York will honor nine women at their 2017 Women of Distinction Dinner and Awards Ceremony on Thursday, including Xerox Corp. Senior Vice President Dragana Pavlovic and National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House President and CEO Deborah Hughes. The event begins at 5:30 p.m. and will be held at the Mary Seaton Room, Kleinhans Music Hall in Buffalo.

Honorees are nominated for their acts of leadership in their career and communities by members of the community and. As Women of Distinction, these honorees are considered role models for all girls, and by accepting the award they are show their dedication to mentoring the women involved in the event.

The other honorees are Jane Cleaver Becker, president, Executive Coach & Consultant; Lisa Coppola, managing partner and vice president, The Coppola Firm & The English Gardener; Pionne Corbin, regional vice president, GEICO; Joanne Ely, vice president and branch manager, M&T Bank; Nina Heard, community relations manager, General Motors Tonawanda Engine Plant; Tara Sweeney Hughes, coordinator of human trafficking programs and Northeast Division disaster mental health advisor, International Institute of Buffalo/American Red Cross; and Katherine Mohney, senior vice president and financial advisor, Morgan Stanley.

“It is our honor to award nine of Western New York’s most outstanding women who excel both personally and professionally in their commitment to making our world a better place” said Judith A. Cranston, CEO of Girl Scouts of Western New York. Each of the 2017 honorees exemplify what it means to be a G.I.R.L. (Go-getter, Innovator, Risk-taker, Leader) and are helping to shape the collective futures of young women as they model the way for the next generation of female leaders.”

(c) 2017 Rochester Business Journal. To obtain permission to reprint this article, call 585-363-7269 or email [email protected].