New York is among the more lenient states nationwide for driving under the influence offenders, a new report from WalletHub shows.
In its Strictest and Most Lenient States on DUI, WalletHub ranked each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia based on 15 metrics of their drunk-driving penalties. New York ranked 29th.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration data shows drunk driving is to blame for 29 percent of all highway fatalities. It claims roughly 10,000 lives per year.
In New York, there is no minimum sentence for first-time DUI offenders, the report states, while a second conviction would land a driver in jail for a minimum of five days. A DUI in New York is an automatic felony after your second offense.
New York drivers will see their car insurance increase 49 percent after a DUI conviction and their driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days. The minimum fine for a first conviction is $500, while a second conviction is $1,000.
Arizona has the harshest DUI penalties, including long jail times, while South Dakota is the most lenient, primarily because there are no mandatory jail times.
In 37 states, including New York, alcohol-abuse assessment or treatment is mandatory after a DUI conviction, the report states.
Follow Velvet Spicer on Twitter: @Velvet_Spicer
(c) 2017 Rochester Business Journal. To obtain permission to reprint this article, call 585-363-7269 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.