Home / Today's Top Stories / Ad Council to honor 8 at annual celebration

Ad Council to honor 8 at annual celebration

Eight individuals, businesses and community causes have been chosen for the Advertising Council of Rochester’s 2014 Annual Breakfast Celebration, which is to recognize winners based on their financial or volunteer support of the Ad Council.

The event is April 4 at the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. It draws 400 to 700 attendees each year.

“No other community in the country has an organization like the Ad Council,” said Chairman John Barr. “For the past 64 years, we’ve been working every day to make our community a stronger place, but none of this work would be possible without the extraordinary companies and community volunteers we’re recognizing this year.”

The 2014 Ad Council award winners are:
Lantern Award: given to veteran volunteers of the Ad Council.

  • Pennie McNulty, senior vice president, director of account service, Roberts Communications Inc., is an Ad Council board member, Community Impact Campaign volunteer and in-kind supporter, and member of Ad Council’s Giving Society-The W.B. Potter Society.
  • T.C. Pellett, public relations manager for Brand Cool Inc., is a Community Advisory Committee member, strategic roundtable volunteer, Golf Committee member, and member of Ad Council’s Giving Society-The W.B. Potter Society.

W. B. Potter Founder’s Award: recognizes a volunteer team—including individuals and organizations—that have succeeded in bringing to life a results-oriented, collaborative initiative that fills a community need.

  • Cancer Services Program of Monroe County: The program seeks to increase access to breast, cervical and colon cancer screenings for people who are uninsured or have little coverage. The program increased the total women screened by 15 percent from 2012 to 2013.

Legacy Award: Created as part of the Ad Council’s 50th anniversary celebration and recognizes former Lantern Award winners who demonstrate continued commitment to the organization.

  • Karen Menachof, Catalyst Direct Inc.

Beacon Award: Recognizes businesses or corporations that have provided years of significant financial and volunteer support to the Ad Council.

  • Frontier Communications Corp.

Chairman’s Awards: This award is presented to an individual or business that has performed noteworthy acts to support the Ad Council.

  • BlackTab Group LLC
  • Nick DiBella, DiBella Films Ltd.

Spark Award: Awarded to an individual under 40 who has used their role as an Ad Council volunteer to create positive change and who serves as an example to others.

  • James Farley, Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Co. Inc.   

Proceeds from the breakfast support the Ad Council’s work in the community to help non-profit organizations and community causes. Reservations are required. Tickets cost $55 a person. For more information or register for the event visit adcouncilroch.org.

 (c) 2014 Rochester Business Journal. To obtain permission to reprint this article, call 585-546-8303 or e-mail rbj@rbj.net.


Check Also

Chris Mueller

Merrill Lynch names Chris Mueller to wealth management post (access required)

Merrill Lynch has named Chris Mueller as the bank's wealth management market executive for New York, a position spread across ...


Grant will help city target zombie properties (access required)

A $500,000 grant from New York State will help reduce the number of zombie properties in the city of Rochester. ...